

Special Meeting of Council

Thursday 4 November 2021

MINUTES

City of Stirling 25 Cedric Street, Stirling WA, 6021

These Minutes were confirmed as a true and correct record of proceedings at a meeting held on 9 December 2021.

Signature:	
_	Chair

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MEN	MBERSHIP	3
1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	5
2.	ELECTION OF CHAIR	5
3.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR	5
4.	DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS	6
5.	PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME	6
6.	APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE	6
7.	PETITIONS	6
8.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	6
9.	BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES	6
10.	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)	6
11.	ELECTION OF COMMITTEES	6
12.	REPORTS OF COMMITTEES	8
13.	ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED	8
14.	ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN	8
15.	URGENT BUSINESS AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR	8
16.	GENERAL BUSINESS	8
17.	DECISION TO MOVE TO CONFIDENTIAL SESSION	9
12	FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING	Ω

MEMBERSHIP

OWNER COUNCIL	MEMBER	ALTERNATE MEMBER
Town of Cambridge	Cr Andres Timmermanis	Cr Jane Cutler
City of Joondalup	Cr John Chester Cr Nige Jones	Cr Russ Fishwick Cr John Raftis
City of Perth	Cr Brent Fleeton	Cr Clyde Bevan
City of Stirling	Cr Tony Krsticevic Cr Suzanne Migdale Cr Bianca Sandri Cr Karlo Perkov	Cr David Lagan
Town of Victoria Park	Cr Bronwyn Ife	
City of Vincent	Cr Ashley Wallace	Cr Jonathan Hallett
City of Wanneroo	Cr Brett Treby Cr Glynis Parker	Cr Linda Aitken Cr Vinh Nguyen

PRESENT

Chair Cr Bianca Sandri

Councillors Cr John Chester

Cr Brent Fleeton
Cr Bronwyn Ife
Cr Nige Jones
Cr Tony Krsticevic
Cr Suzanne Migdale
Cr Glynis Parker
Cr Karlo Perkov
Cr Brett Treby
Cr Ashley Wallace

Alternate Members Nil

Staff Mr Jon Morellini (Chief Executive Officer)

Mr Daniel Govus (Senior Governance Advisor – City of Stirling)
Ms Regan Clyde (Senior Governance Officer – City of Stirling)
Mr Jackson Mawby (Senior Governance Officer – City of

Stirling)

Apologies Councillors Cr Andres Timmermanis

Leave of Absence Nil

Absent Nil

Consultants Nil

Apologies Participant Councils' Advisers

Mr David MacLennan (City of Vincent)
Mr James Pearson (City of Joondalup)
Mr John Giorgi (Town of Cambridge)
Ms Michelle Reynolds (City of Perth)
Mr Daniel Simms (City of Wanneroo)
Mr Stuart Jardine (City of Stirling)

Mr Anthony Vuleta (Town of Victoria Park)

In Attendance

Participant Councils'

Advisers

Mr Stevan Rodic (City of Stirling)

Members of the Public Nil

Press Nil

1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Jon Morellini, assumed the chair at 6:12pm in order to conduct the meeting until election of a Chair, and formally declared open the Special Meeting of the Tamala Park Regional Council of 4 November 2021.

The Chief Executive Officer congratulated Councillors on their election to the Tamala Park Regional Council and wished them well in their deliberations over the next two years.

A formal declaration was verbally made by all Councillors present, and declaration forms were signed to indicate that members agree to abide by the *Local Government (Model Code of Conduct) Regulations (2021)*.

2. ELECTION OF CHAIR

A written nomination form for Chair, in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1995* (Schedule 2.31), was given to the Chief Executive Officer. Written approval was also obtained from the elected member nominated for the position of Chair.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that one nomination for the position of Chair had been received from Cr Bianca Sandri.

The Chief Executive Officer called for any further nominations and due to no further nominations being received, declared nominations for Chair closed.

There being only one nomination, Cr Bianca Sandri was declared the elected Chair of Tamala Park Regional Council until 21 October 2023 unopposed.

Cr Sandri was invited to complete the required Declaration (Form 7 - Local Government Constitution Regulations), duly completed the Declaration and was formally congratulated on her appointment.

Cr Sandri assumed the Chair to conduct the remainder of the meeting.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR

A written nomination form for Deputy Chair, in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1995* (Schedule 2.31), was given to the Chair. Written approval was also obtained from the elected member nominated for the position of Deputy Chair.

The Chair advised that one nomination for the position of Deputy Chair had been received from Cr Suzanne Migdale.

The Chair called for any further nominations and, due to no further nominations being received, declared nominations for Deputy Chair closed.

There being only one nomination, the Chair formally announced Cr Migdale elected unopposed as Deputy Chair of the Tamala Park Regional Council until 21 October 2023.

Cr Migdale was invited to complete the required Declaration (Form 7 - Local Government Constitution Regulations), duly completed the Declaration and was formally congratulated on her appointment.

Cr Migdale assumed the Deputy Chair.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

Nil

5. PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME

Nil

6. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Apologies: Cr Timmermanis

7. PETITIONS

Nil

8. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Nil

9. BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES

Nil

10. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)

Nil

11. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES

11.1 Audit Committee

The Chair called for nominations from elected members for Audit Committee membership.

The following nominations were received:

- Cr Brett Treby
- Cr Brent Fleeton
- Cr Ashley Wallace
- Cr Tony Krsticevic
- Cr Karlo Perkov

No further nominations were received.

Moved Cr Treby, Seconded Cr Parker.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That in accordance with the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the following Council members be APPOINTED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY to the Audit Committee:

- 1. Cr Brett Treby
- 2. Cr Brent Fleeton
- 3. Cr Ashley Wallace
- 4. Cr Tony Krsticevic
- 5. Cr Karlo Perkov

(The Chair will be elected at the next Audit Committee Meeting)

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY (11/0).

11.2 Management Committee

The Chair called for nominations from elected members for Management Committee membership.

The following nominations were received:

- Cr Andres Timmermanis
- Cr John Chester
- Cr Suzanne Migdale
- Cr Nige Jones
- Cr Bianca Sandri
- Cr Tony Krsticevic

Moved Cr Jones, Seconded Cr Krsticevic.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That in accordance with the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the following Council members be APPOINTED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY to the Management Committee:

- 1. Cr Andres Timmermanis
- 2. Cr John Chester
- 3. Cr Suzanne Migdale
- 4. Cr Nige Jones
- 5. Cr Bianca Sandri
- 6. Cr Tony Krsticevic

(The Chair will be elected at the next Management Committee Meeting)

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY (11/0).

11.3 CEO Performance Review Committee

The Chair called for nominations from elected members for CEO Performance Review Committee membership.

The following nominations were received:

- Cr Bronwyn Ife
- Cr Brett Treby
- Cr Bianca Sandri
- Cr Karlo Perkov
- Cr John Chester

Moved Cr Ife, Seconded Cr Treby.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That in accordance with the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the following Council members be APPOINTED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY to the CEO Performance Review Committee:

- 1. Cr Bronwyn Ife
- 2. Cr Brett Treby
- 3. Cr Bianca Sandri
- 4. Cr Karlo Perkov
- 5. Cr John Chester

(The Chair will be elected at the next CEO Performance Review Committee Meeting)

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY (11/0).

12. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

Not applicable

13. ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED

Not applicable

14. ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil

15. URGENT BUSINESS AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR

Nil

16. GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

17. DECISION TO MOVE TO CONFIDENTIAL SESSION

Not applicable

18. FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 6:22pm.